Menu

Oleksandr Usyk vs Anthony Joshua 2 Betting Tips & Predictions (World Heavyweight Boxing, August 20)

Usyk Vs Joshua 2 Betting Preview

BetZillion returns with a free Oleksandr Usyk vs Anthony Joshua boxing betting preview and expert predictions with top odds from our list of the best boxing bookmakers.

The long-awaited rematch between Oleksandr Usyk and Anthony Joshua is finally here. The world turns its attention to the August 20 bout, when we will crown the next heavyweight champion. But while this is a fight no fan should miss, it also presents many excellent betting opportunities, which we will explore in this betting preview.

So without further ado, here is our Oleksandr Usyk vs Anthony Joshua betting preview, with expert wagering picks and top Usyk vs Joshua II odds, courtesy of the top-rated boxing bookmakers.

Usyk vs Joshua 2 Odds

According to the latest Usyk vs Joshua odds, the latter will have his work cut out to get his revenge against the Ukrainian fighter when the 2 clash in Saudi Arabia on Saturday, August 20. Priced at 17/10 to win the fight, Joshua enters the ring as an underdog, which isn’t too crazy considering he lost this bout in September 2021.

50% up to $250
T&Cs Apply
check iconVIP program
check iconLive games
check iconMany bonuses
Bet £10 get £30 in free bets
T&Cs Apply
check iconAcca insurance
check iconLive betting
check icon24/7 support
Up to $750 for NA only
T&Cs Apply
check iconMany bonuses
check icon24/7 support
check iconMobile apps
100% up to $500
T&Cs Apply
check iconLive betting
check iconMany sports
check iconFast payouts
100% up to $1000 in free bet
T&Cs Apply
check iconGreat support
check iconMobile apps
check iconLive betting

Admittedly, a lot has changed since, but one thing has remained a constant – Usyk won the last fight and is, according to the head-to-head stats, the better boxer. According to bookmakers, Usyk is fairly favored to win, holding a fairly low price of 1/5, giving him about a 66.6% chance of success.

Things don’t look much different in any other markets. Looking at the Usyk vs Joshua 2 odds to win with KO or TKO, Joshua is priced at 3/1, while Usyk is at just 15/8, again giving him a substantial edge in the rematch.

Head-to-Head: Usyk vs Joshua

Usyk and Joshua last met on September 25, 2021, at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium in London, England, when Joshua had to face his mandatory WBO challenger Usyk in defense of his unified world heavyweight titles. But despite fighting in front of his home crowd, Joshua was outboxed by the Ukrainian over the 12-round distance, suffering only the second defeat in his career.

The fight was interesting to watch and reminded us more of a chess match than anything else. Usyk was boxing and moving, carefully picking his punches while throwing Joshua off his stride with counter-punches and feints.

The first fight offered quite a few solid opportunities to place in-play online bets, but it remains to be seen how the rematch will go. If it follows the same pattern, Joshua might get desperate and take more risks, putting him in more danger. Alternatively, he could look for a stoppage win, as this will give him a better chance than trying to outbox Usyk, but we wouldn’t count on that happening.

Oleksandr Usyk Form

Oleksandr Usyk is 19-0 in his professional career with 13 KOs, which is seriously impressive. Albeit, The Cat, had not fought once since his first bout with Joshua since he had to join his country’s territorial defense forces against the Russian invasion before he went into his training camp.

So form-wise, there isn’t much to talk about. Knowing that he has not stepped in the ring in a year, we learn that Usyk is still unbeaten and has won his last 2 fights via a unanimous decision.

Usyk Advantages Over Joshua

There are many reasons why Usyk vs Joshua 2 odds show favour of the former. Not only has he won this bout the last time, but Usyk also looked much cleaner in the first affair. Perhaps Joshua got his tactics wrong, but Usyk has shown much more agility and entered the ring with a better plan.

Anthony Joshua Form

Anthony Joshua is 24-2 over his career with 22 Kos, which is impressive. Still, he has suffered 2 losses across his last 4 bouts, which doesn’t look too good.

Besides losing to Usyk in September 2021, Joshua also lost against Andy Ruiz Jr. with a TKO in June 2019 but got his revenge in December with a unanimous decision. Since then, he has won against Kubrat Pulev with a KO in December 2020 and suffered the loss above against Usyk in 2021.

Joshua Advantages Over Usyk

On paper, Joshua looks like a far better fighter with many things going in his favour. AJ is taller (198 cm) and far more experienced than Usyk. Besides that, Joshua holds a scary 85% KO average and has a longer reach (208 cm)

Last time out, Joshua did not step up and was the worst fighter of the day, but one poor showing doesn’t necessarily mean much. It marked only the second loss of his career (24-2), but that doesn’t signify Joshua will be 24-3 after this weekend.

As shown before, Joshua is an extremely efficient fighter. He has now changed his trainer, which gives him the element of the unknown, leaving Usyk scratching his head, trying to figure out which form of Joshua he will meet on the weekend.

Time and Date of the Event

The Oleksandr Usyk vs Anthony Joshua II, also billed as Rage on the Red Sea, is slated for Saturday, August 20, 2022, at King Abdullah Sports City in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. It will mark the first meeting between the 2 fighters since September 2021 and possibly one of the year’s most significant boxing events.

As a massive sporting event, you can expect to find a live stream on all live streaming platforms; however, the bout won’t be broadcasted on television. So if you want to tune in and watch 2 of the world’s greatest duke it out, your best bet is to find a stable live stream online. Just don’t forget to mark the date on your calendar.

Usyk vs Joshua 2 Predictions

With all the basic information out of the way, we can focus on our Usyk vs Joshua 2 predictions, where we provide you with our best bets and picks you might want to trail.

50% up to $250
To receive your Welcome Bonus, simply redeem it, make a deposit and instantly receive a 50% bonus up to $250.
Bet £10 get £30 in free bets
New customers using Promo code H30 only, Min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15, free bets credited after settlement of first qualifying bet, free bets will expire 30 days after the qualifying bet is placed, payment method/player/country restrictions apply.
Up to $750 for NA only
North American customers enjoy up to $250 extra on each of their first three deposits. Full T&Cs apply

Anthony Joshua to Win by KO/TKO – 3/1

The odds on Usyk Joshua 2 may look about right, and we have no intention of betting on the to-win markets. However, when we talk about the offered betting odds, it’s hard not to consider betting on Joshua to win by KO/TKO at 3/1.

Admittedly, Usyk won the first bout, but Joshua did not look like himself on the day, and with the change of coach ahead of the rematch, he can only do better. Moreover, we feel the market has overreacted to the first fight’s result, as there is no real reason to believe Usyk has a 66.6% chance of winning against a taller, more experienced fighter.

Then there’s also the question of Usyk’s preparation for the fight, which likely wasn’t optimal due to his home situation. And if we put everything together, fading the favourite is not a bad  Oleksandr Usyk vs Anthony Joshua prediction, especially at the offered odds.

Both Fighters to Be Knocked Down – 7/2

If this fight catches light early, we could be in for a very interesting and exciting shootout, which will suit Joshua better. But even he is not immune to getting knocked down. 7/2 for both fighters to be knocked down is a solid offer.

Joshua to Win with Knockout – 8/1

Knockouts at this level are not as common, but Joshua to win the bout with a knockout at 8/1 is too good to pass on. Some may argue that Joshua didn’t look nearly fast enough to catch Usyk the first time, which is true, but according to the reports we have from Joshua’s training, he will look like an entirely different fighter for this bout.

And we can’t forget that Joshua has an 85% KO rate, which is nothing to sneeze at.

Oleksandr Usyk vs Anthony Joshua Prediction – Bonus Pick

We end our Usyk vs Joshua betting tips with a final prediction on Joshua to win in rounds 7-12. Although this should be an explosive affair, it seems unlikely to end soon. With a new coach, Usyk, we don’t know what to expect from Joshua, so the fighters will spend the first few rounds feeling each other out before the fight evolves.

Moreover, Joshua consistently ends fights in that range, ending all of his last 5 (excluding UD wins and losses) bouts between the 7th and 12th round.

Prediction: Joshua to win in rounds 7-12 – 5/1

Our Usyk vs. Joshua 2 Betting Tips

  1. Anthony Joshua to win by KO/TKO – 3/1
  2. Both Fighters to be knocked down – 7/2
  3. Joshua to win with knockout – 8/1
  4. Joshua to win in rounds 7-12 – 5/1

That concludes our free betting preview, providing you with all the information you’ll need to decide on a solid bet on Usyk vs Joshua 2. Remember to only wager with the best boxing betting sites and look for the latest wagering odds!

Frequently Asked Questions

CEO & Founder

Sergio is our CEO and betting expert. He is a big football fan. Sergio is the guy that runs it all and the one who got the BetZillion idea. Sergio’s favourite sports include football, handball, futsal, American football, and boxing.

Related articles

Usyk Vs. Joshua 2 Betting Tips: The Highest Odds You Might Be Missing

This Saturday, the top two heavyweights in the world square off for a second time in ten months in what’s being billed as the biggest boxing match of the year. Regardless of who is favored to win this Rage on the Red Sea, there are several underrated odds you might miss. Here we look at the highest odds for Usyk - Joshua II, available for punters.
Aug 19, 2022
Thanks for subscribing!
We’ll send all the updates straight to your inbox. It’s the best way to learn news about sports betting.
You’ll also receive a newsletter with information on major sports betting updates, new betting site reviews, and the latest bonuses and promotions every few weeks.
We’re very happy to have you on board!
Cheers!